Being alone is heroic, too.

I found a letter that my dad wrote to me after some very bad things happened.

We had reconciled and I deliberately saved it for years so I could read it after he was gone, knowing that one day I would need these words desperately. He had written it and that knowledge was all I needed then as he was still alive.

Reading it a few hours ago, I collapsed in tears on my floor, stricken by the loss and the waste of all those years. Reading it sooner would not have changed anything and especially now it gave me what I needed so desperately.

But still, it reminded me of my loss and my ache and the miles I have to travel before I will be whole again and that I walk that road alone.

But still, it reminded me of my loss and my ache and the miles I have to travel before I will be whole again and that I walk that road alone.

So this video I found reminds me to be a hero for myself because that is part of the mission, too. My heart breaks for all the pain I see around me, but it is so hard to give myself the compassion and love that I feel for others. How do I sit with myself? How do I rebuild? Here are some reminders of real things that I can do.

I hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

